top of page
  • Writer's pictureemmmascrafton

An open letter to my mother; thank you for being my mum

'The woman who loves you unconditionally from birth, the one who always puts her kids before herself, and the one who you can always count on above everyone else. Just telling her your problems makes you feel better; mums always know how to make them all go away. And even if you fight, know that she's only looking out for your best interests'





To my beautiful mother,


Words cannot fathom how grateful and proud I am to be called your daughter. I cannot thank you enough for showing me what unconditional love is, you always put my happiness before your own. I never thought that unconditional love exists but a mothers love is living proof that love has no boundaries. I may not have had all the luxurious things in the world growing up, but having you beside me was beyond enough. Every time you're around, everything just seems so right. I feel safe under your wings, my mother hen, my everything; how could I live without you


I can still remember the day when I was just an innocent little girl, learning how to read and count. You were my first teacher, every morning you would drive me to school and pack my favourite snack, alongside homemade muffins for my friends to share; and when I arrived home in the afternoon, I would begin my homework whilst you would ask me a million and one questions about my day, encouraging me to keep focused on studying. Day and night, you taught me so patiently; and when bed time arose, I would lay beside you listening to you read children books to me until I fell asleep


and mum for that, I thank you. Thank you for loving me when I am not so loveable. Thanks you for lifting me up when I am at my lowest; thank you for being my number one fan. Thank you for raising me with such kindness. Thank you for teaching not to settle for anything less. Thank you for knowing my worth even when the world doesn't. Thank you for believing in me when I dint believe in myself. Thank you for staying, as I know you'll never go even if the world turns its back on me; and thank you for the unconditional love that you always show everyday


I’m sorry if it’s taking me a long time; you deserve the world and I would give it to you even if it means to move heaven and earth. I will. Trust me mum. One day, I will. I’ve seen you happy, and I’ve seen you cry. I’ve seen you hurt, and I’ve seen you tired. I have seen all your sacrifices you have made for me and I would like you to know that you are deeply appreciated. You are the strongest, yet the most loving soul that I have ever known; and when I become a mother, I want to be just like you, tough but always giving. I may not say it too often, but I love you with all my heart and I only but wish upon you good health and a fulfilling life


Love always,

Emma

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page